Contra

Costa

County

To: Board of Supervisors

From: John Kopchik, Director, Conservation & Development Department

Date: March 21, 2023

Subject: At-Large Appointments to the Sustainability Commission

RECOMMENDATION(S):

APPROVE the following At Large appointments to the Sustainability Commission for the terms identified below, as recommended by the Sustainability Committee:

- Community Group seat #2: Howdy Goudey, through March 31, 2027
- At-Large, Commercial Seat #2: Susan Hurl, through March 31, 2027 Environmental Justice seat #1: Kiara Pereira, through March 31, 2027

FISCAL IMPACT:

None.

BACKGROUND:

On November 15, 2016, the Board of Supervisors (Board) approved the creation of a Contra Costa County Sustainability Commission. The function of the Sustainability Commission is to:

Advise the Board on opportunities to realize equity and fairness across the diverse communities of Contra Costa County in sustainability

✓ APPROVE✓ RECOMMENDATION OF CNTY ADMINISTRATOR	☐ OTHER
Action of Board On: 03/21/2023 APPROVED AS RECOMMENDED OTHER Clerks Notes: VOTE OF SUPERVISORS	
 AYE: John Gioia, District I Supervisor Candace Andersen, District II Supervisor Diane Burgis, District III Supervisor Ken Carlson, District IV Supervisor Federal D. Glover, District V Supervisor 	I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors on the date shown. ATTESTED: March 21, 2023 Monica Nino, County Administrator and Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
Contact: Demian Hardman-Saldana, 925-655-2816	By: Stacey M. Boyd, Deputy

<sup>programs that support the Climate Action Plan.
Provide suggestions to staff and the Board on how to better engage Contra Costa County residents and businesses on sustainability issues and implementation of the Climate Action Plan.
Provide advice to staff and the Board on successful implementation of the Climate Action Plan, including suggestions on how that work can be performed more efficiently and effectively.</sup>

BACKGROUND: (CONT'D)

The Sustainability Commission has twelve members and five alternates members, selected as follows:

- Five District representatives and five alternates nominated by individual members of the Board of Supervisors (representatives and alternates must be a resident of that district);
- Two members representing community groups whose mission includes sustainability and/or environmental issues;
- Two members representing commercial groups or organizations whose business focuses on sustainability and/or environmental issues;
- Two members representing environmental justice issues and who live in disadvantaged communities, and who represent the geographic diversity of the County; and
- One member representing and education or research institution.

The terms for each At-Large seat were established by the Board when it made initial appointments to the Sustainability Commission on March 14, 2017. The terms of the appointments were staggered to maintain continuity on the Sustainability Commission. Three of the At-Large seats expire on March 31, 2023: At-Large, Community Group Seat #2; At-Large, Business Seat #2 and; At-Large, Environmental Justice Seat #1. The Department of Conservation and Development (DCD) advertised the opportunities to serve starting on December 14, 2022 and accepted applications through January 15, 2023.

18 people submitted applications to serve in the vacant At-Large seats described above, including the incumbent in Community Group Seat. Eight (8) applied for the seat representing business; seven (7) applied for the seat representing a community group; three (3) applied for the environmental justice seat. Attachment A shows the current members of the Sustainability Commission. Attachment B shows the applicants sorted alphabetically by interest group. Attachment C is a summary of the applications. Attachment D is all the eligible applications received by the Clerk of the Board, with personal contact information redacted.

The Sustainability Committee interviewed applicants on February 17, 2023, and recommends that the Board of Supervisors make the following at-large appointments to the Sustainability Commission, with the noted terms of service:

- Community Group seat #2: Howdy Goudey, through March 31, 2027
 At-Large, Commercial Seat #2: Susan Hurl, through March 31, 2027
 Environmental Justice seat #1: Kiara Pereira, through March 31, 2027

CONSEQUENCE OF NEGATIVE ACTION:

If the recommendations are not approved, At-Large appointments will not be made to the Sustainability Commission.

ATTACHMENTS

Attachment A - Sustainability Commission Membership Roster as of December 2022 Attachment B - Applicants Sorted by Interest Group Attachment C - Summary of Applications Attachment D(a) - Commercial Seat Applications Attachment D(b) - Community Group Seat Applications

Attachment D(c) - Environmental Justice Group Seat Applications