To: Board of Supervisors

From: Russell Watts, Treasurer-Tax Collector

Date: March 21, 2023



Contra Costa County

Subject: APPOINTMENT OF SPECIAL DISTRICT ALTERNATE REPRESENTATIVE TO THE TREASURY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

RECOMMENDATION(S):

APPOINT Dawn Morrow to the Category 2 Seat, an alternate member representing legislative bodies of the special districts in the County on the Treasury Oversight Committee. Term March 21, 2023 to April 30, 2026.

FISCAL IMPACT:

None.

BACKGROUND:

The Board of Supervisors established the Treasury Oversight Committee on November 14, 1995, pursuant to Chapter 5, Article 6 of the California Government Code. The purpose of the Treasury Oversight Committee is to review and monitor the County Treasurer's annual investment policy, and to ensure an annual audit is conducted to determine the County's compliance with Government Code §§ 27130-27137. The Committee will be composed of seven statutory members and three alternates. The Committee members are in three different categories as follows:

Category 1: Appointed officials (two statutory members and one alternate). Category 1

A	APPROVE	OTHER
RECOMMENDATION OF CNTY ADMINISTRATOR RECOMMENDATION OF BOARD COMMITTEE		
Action	n of Board On: 03/21/2023	APPROVED AS RECOMMENDED OTHER
Clerks Notes:		
VOTE OF SUPERVISORS		
AYE:	John Gioia, District I Supervisor Candace Andersen, District II Supervisor Diane Burgis, District III Supervisor Ken Carlson, District IV Supervisor Federal D. Glover, District V Supervisor	I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors on the date shown. ATTESTED: March 21, 2023 Monica Nino, County Administrator and Clerk of the Board of Supervisors By: Stacey M. Boyd, Deputy
Contact: Ronda Boler, (925) 608-9506		

appointed members are the County Superintendent of Schools or his or her designee and a representative and an alternate of the Board or their designee.

BACKGROUND: (CONT'D)

Category 2: Elected members (two statutory members and two alternates). Category 2 includes one representative and one alternate elected by a majority of the school and community college districts; and one representative and one alternate elected by a majority of the special districts.

Category 3: Public members (three statutory members). Category 3 includes representatives from the public nominated by the County Treasurer and confirmed by the Board.

On February 15, 2023, the Treasury Oversight Committee was advised, Dawn Morrow, Ironhouse Sanitary District Board President, was elected to the Special District Alternate Representative seat on the Treasury Oversight Committee on November 21, 2022. Upon approval by the Board of Supervisors, Ms. Morrow will fill the vacancy left by Stephen Smith who served term March 10, 2020 - April 30, 2022.

CONSEQUENCE OF NEGATIVE ACTION:

No continuous representation by the legislative bodies of the special districts in the County on the Treasury Oversight Committee required by California Government Code Section 27132 and the November 14, 1995, County Board Order (I.O.-4) regarding composition of a County Treasury Oversight Committee.

ATTACHMENTS

Special Districts Appointment Letter_Dawn Morrow_2.15.23