SLAT OF STATE OF STAT

Contra Costa County

To: Board of Supervisors

From: Anna Roth, Health Services Director

Date: February 28, 2023

Subject: Appointments & Re-Appointments to the Integrated Pest Management (IPM) Advisory Committee

RECOMMENDATION(S):

APPOINT the following individuals to seats on the Integrated Pest Management (IPM) Advisory Committee:

- -Roxana Lucero, Save Mount Diablo, resident of Bay Point, to Environmental Seat with an expiration date of December 31, 2026
- -Dr. Sara Levin, Deputy Health Officer, to Health Services Dept Representative or designee, Ex Officio with no set term expiration
- -Michele Mancuso, Public Works Department, to Storm Water Program Representative with no set term expiration
- -Beth Slate, Department of Agriculture, to Agricultural Commissioner or Designee, Ex Officio, non-voting seat with no set term expiration
- -Chris Lau, Public Works Department, to Public Works Deputy Director, or Designee, non-voting seat with no set term expiration
- -Dave Lavelle, Public Works Department, to Public Works Facilities Director or Designee, Ex Officio, non-voting seat with no set term expiration

REAPPOINT the following individuals to seats on the IPM Advisory Committee:

-Kimberly Hazard, resident of Richmond, to Sustainability Commission with an expiration

✓ APPROVE	OTHER
✓ RECOMMENDATION OF CONTROL ADMINISTRATOR	NTY RECOMMENDATION OF BOARD COMMITTEE
Action of Board On: 02/28/2023 APPROVED AS RECOMMENDED OTHER	
Clerks Notes:	
VOTE OF SUPERVISORS	
AYE: John Gioia, District I Supervisor	
Candace Andersen, District II Supervisor	I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors on the date shown.
Diane Burgis, District III Supervisor	ATTESTED: February 28, 2023
Ken Carlson, District IV Supervisor Federal D. Glover, District V Supervisor	Monica Nino, County Administrator and Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
Contact: Matt Kaufmann (925)	By: Stacey M. Boyd, Deputy

335-3235

date of March 31, 2025

- -Susan Heckly, resident of Pleasant Hill, to Public Member Fish and Wildlife Committee with an expiration date of February 28, 2026
- -Carlos Agurto, Pestec IPM Provider, resident of Antioch, to Pest Management County

RECOMMENDATION(S): (CONT'D)

Contractor with no set term expiration.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact for this action.

BACKGROUND:

The Environmental Organization seat became vacant on December 31, 2022. The staff-designated seats on the Committee are ex-officio, but have historically been formally appointed by this Board since IPMAC is advisory to it. The Health Department will have a new representative and the members representing seats from the Agriculture and Public Works Departments have been serving on an acting basis.

Current IPM Advisory Committee Membership (from the Committee's bylaws): The membership of the Committee shall be composed of the following:

- 1. Four (4) ex-officio, non-voting members as follows:
 - a. Agricultural Commissioner, or designee
 - b. Public Works Facilities Maintenance Manager, or designee
 - c. Public Works Deputy Director, or designee
 - d. A current structural pest management contractor with the Public Works Facilities Maintenance Division
- 2. Eight (8) voting members as follows:
 - a. Two (2) ex-officio members:
 - i. Health Services Department representative
 - ii. County/Unincorporated County Stormwater Program representative
 - b. Six (6) public members:
 - i. Public and Environmental Health Advisory Board representative
 - ii. County Fish and Wildlife Committee representative
 - iii. Three (3) Type 2, "At Large Appointments,"
 - iv. One (1) Type 3, "At Large Appointment," for an environmental organization with either 501(c)(3) or 501(c)(4) status
- 3. One (1) Type 3, "At Large Appointment" for a Public Member Alternate.

Term Expirations

The term expirations for the appointments made under this Board Order will be as follows:

Roxana Lucero, Environmental Organization Type 3 At-Large seat: December 31, 2026

Dr. Sara Levin, Contra Costa Health Services Representative seat: None

Michele Mancuso, Stormwater Program Representative seat: None

Beth Slate, Agricultural Commissioner designee seat: None

Chris Lau, Public Works Deputy Director designee seat: None

Dave Lavelle: Public Works Facilities Maintenance Manager designee seat: None

Kimberly Hazard, Sustainability Commission Representative: March 31, 2025

Susan Heckly, Fish and Wildlife Committee Representative: February 28, 2026 Carlos Agurto, County Structural Pest Management Contractor Representative: None

Environmental Organization Seat

The IPM Coordinator recruited for this seat in Fall of 2022. Ms. Lucero is the only applicant. Her application and letter of organizational support is attached.

Nomination by the Commissions/Committees Represented

The Sustainability Commission nominated Kimberly Hazard on September 26, 2019. The Fish and Wildlife Committee nominated Susan Heckly on November 20, 2019. This action reappoints Ms. Hazard and Ms. Heckly to the IPM Advisory Committee and aligns their term expiration dates with their terms on the Sustainability Commission and Fish and Wildlife Committee respectively. In the event that either member resigns their seat on IPMAC, the nominating body would be asked to recommend their replacement.

Staff and Contractor Seats

Michele Mancuso, Beth Slate, Chris Lau, and Dave Lavelle have been acting in their respective staff-designated seats and this action formalizes their appointment in accordance with past practice. Carlos Agurto remains the account manager for Pestec, who currently provides structural IPM services as a contractor with the Public Works Facilities Division. This action reappoints Mr. Agurto to the Committee without a term expiration as all incumbents to this seat would have to be under a current contract with Public Works.

ATTACHMENTS

Application - Lucero, Roxana Letter of Support - Lucero, Roxana Application - Hazard, Kimberly Application - Heckly, Susan Application - Agurto, Carlos Roster