To: Board of Supervisors

From: Anna Roth, Health Services Director

Date: March 30, 2021

Subject: Appointments to Hazardous Materials Commission



Contra Costa County

RECOMMENDATION(S):

APPOINT Ken Carlson, City of Pleasant Hill, to a new City Seat #3 position and APPOINT Peter Cloven, City of Clayton, to a new City Seat #3 Alternate position on the Hazardous Materials Commission.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact for this action. These positions are voluntary.

BACKGROUND:

The Hazardous Materials Commission was established in 1986 to advise the Board, County staff and the mayor's council members, and staffs of the cities within the County, on issues related to the development, approval and administration of the County Hazardous Waste Management Plan. Specifically, the Board charged the Commission with drafting a hazardous materials storage and transportation plan and ordinance, coordinating the implementation of the hazardous materials release response plan and inventory program, and to analyze and develop recommendations regarding hazardous materials issues with consideration to broad public input, and report back to the Board on Board referrals.

✓ APPROVE	OTHER
№ RECOMMENDATION OF C	NTY ADMINISTRATOR
Action of Board On: 03/30/2021	✓ APPROVED AS RECOMMENDED ☐ OTHER
Clerks Notes:	
VOTE OF SUPERVISORS	
AYE: John Gioia, District I Supervisor Candace Andersen, District II Supervisor Diane Burgis, District III Supervisor Karen Mitchoff, District IV Supervisor Federal D. Glover, District V Supervisor	I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors on the date shown. ATTESTED: March 30, 2021 Monica Nino, County Administrator and Clerk of the Board of Supervisors By: Stacey M. Boyd, Deputy

Contact: Michael Kent, 925-313-6587

BACKGROUND: (CONT'D)

The bylaws of the Commission were amended on July 14, 2020 to re-add a third City Seat and Alternate to the Commission. The bylaws further stipulate that the representatives of cities be appointed by the City Selection Committee pursuant to Article 11 (§ 50270 et seq.) of Chapter I of Part I of Title 5 of the Government Code. The Mayor's Conference has nominated Ken Carlson, City of Pleasant Hill, for City Seat #3 and Peter Cloven, City of Clayton, for City Seat #3 Alternate. The terms of these seats will expire on December 31, 2024.

CONSEQUENCE OF NEGATIVE ACTION:

The seats will remain unfilled, and this will potentially make it more difficult to achieve a quorum and will potentially lessen the viewpoint of municipal jurisdictions in Commission deliberations.