SLAL OF THE STATE OF THE STATE

Contra Costa County

To: Board of Supervisors

From: Anna Roth, Health Services Director

Date: December 17, 2019

Subject: Appointment to the Integrated Pest Management Advisory Committee

RECOMMENDATION(S):

APPOINT the following individuals to the Integrated Pest Management (IPM) Advisory Committee:

Dr. Andrew Sutherland, UC IPM Program, resident of Martinez, to the public seat representing an environmental organization; and

Kimberly Hazard, resident of Richmond, to the public seat for a representative from the County Sustainability Commission; and

Teri Rie, from the Public Works Department, to the ex-officio, voting seat for a representative of the County/Unincorporated County Storm Water Program; and

REAPPOINT the following individuals to the IPM Advisory Committee:

Susan Heckly, resident of Pleasant Hill, to the public seat for a representative from the County Fish and Wildlife Committee; and

Carlos Agurto, Pestec IPM Provider, resident of Antioch, to the County Pest Management Contractor seat:

	APPROVE	OTHER
	RECOMMENDATION OF CI	NTY RECOMMENDATION OF BOARD COMMITTEE
Action of Board On: 12/17/2019 APPROVED AS RECOMMENDED OTHER		
Clerks Notes:		
VOTE OF SUPERVISORS		
AYE:	John Gioia, District I Supervisor Candace Andersen, District II Supervisor Diane Burgis, District III Supervisor Karen Mitchoff, District IV Supervisor Federal D. Glover, District V Supervisor	I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors on the date shown. ATTESTED: December 17, 2019 David Twa, County Administrator and Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
		By: Stacey M. Boyd. Deputy

cc: Wade Finlinson, Marcy Wilhelm

925-335-3210

Contact: Randall Sawyer,

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact for this action.

BACKGROUND:

Except for the Environmental Organization and the Stormwater Program Representative seats, the terms end on December 31, 2019 for all other seats listed above. The Environmental Organization seat has been vacant since August 2018. The Stormwater seat has no term limit; the previous occupant recently retired.

Current IPM Advisory Committee Membership (from the Committee's bylaws):

The membership of the Committee shall be composed of the following:

- 1. Four (4) ex-officio, non-voting members as follows:
- a. Agricultural Commissioner, or designee
- b. Public Works Facilities Maintenance Manager, or designee
- c. Public Works Deputy Director, or designee
- d. A current Structural Pest Management contractor with the Public Works Facilities Maintenance Division
- 2. Eight (8) voting members as follows:
- a. Two (2) ex-officio members:
 - i Health Services Department representative
 - ii County/Unincorporated County Stormwater Program representative
- b. Six (6) public members:
 - i Public and Environmental Health Advisory Board representative
 - ii County Fish and Wildlife Committee representative
 - Three (3) Type 2, "At Large Appointments,"
 - iv. One (1) Type 3, "At Large Appointment," for an environmental organization with either 501(c)(3) or 501(c)(4) status
- 3. One (1) Type 3, "At Large Appointment" for a Public Member Alternate.

Term Expirations

The term expirations for the appointments made under this Board Order will be as follows:

Andrew Sutherland, Environmental Organization Type 3 At-Large Seat: December 31, 2022

Kimberly Hazard, Sustainability Commission Representative: December 31, 2023

Teri Rie, Stormwater Program Representative Seat: None

Susan Heckly, Fish and Wildlife Committee Representative: December 31, 2023

Carlos Agurto, County Structural Pest Management Contractor Representative: December 31, 2023

Environmental Organization Seat

The IPM Coordinator recruited for this seat in Fall of 2018 and again during the Fall of 2019. Dr. Sutherland is the only applicant. His application, C.V., and letter of organizational support are attached.

Nomination by the Commissions/Committees Represented

The Sustainability Commission nominated Kimberly Hazard on September 26, 2019.

The Fish and Wildlife Committee nominated Susan Heckly on November 20, 2019.

Staff and Contractor Seats

Teri Rie is replacing Cece Sellgren as the Stormwater Program representative.

Carlos Agurto remains the account manager for Pestec, who currently provides structural IPM services as a contractor with the Public Works Facilities Division.

ATTACHMENTS

Application- Sutherland, A.