Contra Costa County

To: Board of Supervisors

From: John Kopchik, Director, Conservation & Development Department

Date: March 14, 2017

Subject: At Large Appointments to the Sustainability Commission

RECOMMENDATION(S):

APPROVE the following At Large appointments to the Sustainability Commission for a term to be determined by Board action on a separate report from the Ad Hoc Committee on Sustainability pertaining to the composition and organization of the Sustainability Commission:

- Environmental Justice seat: Doria Robinson
- Community Group seat #1: Harry Thurston
- Community Group seat #2: Howdy Goudey
- Business Group seat #1: Kathy Cutting
- Business Group seat #2: Nick Snyder
- Education/Research seat: Scott Warfe

FISCAL IMPACT:

None.

✓ APPROVE	OTHER
☐ RECOMMENDATION OF CNTY ADMINISTRATOR	
Action of Board On: 03/14/2017 APPROVED AS RECOMMENDED OTHER	
Clerks Notes:	
VOTE OF SUPERVISORS	
AYE: John Gioia, District I Supervisor Candace Andersen, District II Supervisor Diane Burgis, District III Supervisor Karen Mitchoff, District IV Supervisor Federal D. Glover, District V Supervisor	I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors on the date shown. ATTESTED: March 14, 2017 David Twa, County Administrator and Clerk of the Board of Supervisors By: Staceyy M. Boyd, Deputy

Contact: Jody London,

926-674-7871

BACKGROUND:

On November 15, 2016, the Board of Supervisors approved the creation of a Contra Costa County Sustainability Commission. The function of the Sustainability Commission will be to:

- Provide advice to staff and the Board on successful implementation of the Climate Action Plan, including suggestions on how that work can be performed more efficiently and effectively.
- Advise the Board on opportunities to realize equity and fairness across the diverse communities of Contra Costa County in sustainability programs that support the Climate Action Plan.
- Provide suggestions to staff and the Board on how to better engage Contra Costa County residents and businesses on sustainability issues and implementation of the Climate Action Plan.

The Sustainability Commission was approved to have ten members, selected as follows:

- Five District representatives nominated by individual members of the Board of Supervisors (representatives must be a resident of that district);
- Two members representing community groups whose mission includes sustainability and/or environmental issues;
- Two members representing commercial groups or organizations whose business focuses on sustainability and/or environmental issues; and
- One member representing environmental justice issues and who lives in a disadvantaged community.

The Board directed the Ad Hoc Sustainability Committee to review applications and interview applicants to the At-Large seats and recommend candidates for those five seats.

The Department of Conservation and Development advertised the opportunity to serve on the Sustainability Commission from November 28, 2016 through December 23, 2016. Applicants applied through the Clerk of the Board. 35 people applied to serve on the Sustainability Commission. 15 were eligible for seats representing community groups. 8 were eligible for seats representing business. One was eligible for the seat representing environmental justice. Some applicants were eligible in more than one category. The Ad Hoc Sustainability Committee is requesting the Board of Supervisors create an additional seat for one member who is a resident of Contra Costa County and represents an education institution in Contra Costa County or a research institution in Contra Costa or a neighboring County. 5 applicants were eligible in this new category.

All applicants are eligible for appointment by the Supervisor in whose district they reside. Nine people applied from District 1. Nine people applied from District 2. Five people applied from District 3. Seven people applied from District 4. Five people applied from District 5. Attachment A shows the applicants sorted by eligibility for at-large seats and eligibility for District appointment. Attachment B is a summary of the applications.

Attachment C is all the applications received by the Clerk of the Board, with personal contact information redacted.

All applicants eligible for appointment to at-large seats were invited to an interview with the Ad Hoc Sustainability Committee on February 21. The Committee interviewed the following individuals:

- Gretchen Logue
- Nick Despota
- Charles Davidson
- Jency James
- Kim Hazard
- Bob Joe
- Carol Weed
- Rebecca Verity
- Mark Thomson
- Harry Thurston
- Allan Moskowitz
- Carolyn Phinney
- Nick Snyder
- Kimberly Lam
- Kathy Cutting
- Howdy Goudey
- Scott Warfe

The Committee also received a written statement from Reid Edwards (Attachment D). The Ad Hoc Sustainability Committee recommends that the Board of Supervisors make the following at-large appointments to the Sustainability Commission:

- Environmental Justice seat: Doria Robinson
- Community Group seat #1: Harry Thurston
- Community Group seat #2: Howdy Goudey
- Business Group seat #1: Kathy Cutting
- Business Group seat #2: Nick Snyder
- Education/Research seat: Scott Warfe*

CONSEQUENCE OF NEGATIVE ACTION:

If the recommendations are not approved, at large appointments will not be made to the Sustainability Commission.

CHILDREN'S IMPACT STATEMENT:

^{*}The appointment of Mr. Warfe is contingent on the Board's separate approval of an action to add an Education/Research seat.

While this is not a direct service program for children and youth up to the age of 18, the goals of the Climate Action Plan have a direct impact on outcome 5 in the Children's Report Card: Communities that are Safe and Provide a High Quality of Life for Children and Families. The Sustainability Commission will provide advice to the Board that can improve environmental conditions for children and their parents and caregivers in Contra Costa County.

ATTACHMENTS

Attachment A: Sustainability Commission Applicants Sorted by Eligibility

Attachment B: Summary of Sustainability Commission Applicants

Attachment C: District 1 Applicants Attachment C: District 2 Applicants

Attachment C: District 3 Applicants Attachment C: District 4 Applicants

Attachment C: District 5 Applicants

Attachment D: Letter from Reid Edwards