The Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County, California

In the matter of:

Resolution No. 2021/343

In the matter of Recognizing Mount Diablo State Park on their 100th Anniversary

WHEREAS, Mount Diablo State Park is in the heart of Contra Costa County, just east of Walnut Creek; and

WHEREAS, for thousands of years the Native Americans were caretakers and treated the mountain as a sacred space; and

WHEREAS, Colonel Leander Ransom established Mount Diablo as the initial reference point for land surveys in 1852 and began dividing up public lands; and

WHEREAS, from 1874 to 1891, Joseph Hall opened the Mountain House Hotel at 2,400 feet in elevation for visitors to Mt. Diablo to stay on the venture up the mountain; and

WHEREAS, Mount Diablo State Park was dedicated on June 19, 1921, it was run by an appointed board and was only a few hundred acres; and

WHEREAS, Mount Diablo became a state park in 1931; and

WHEREAS, in 1928, Charles Lindbergh lit the beacon that became known as the Eye of Diablo; and

WHEREAS, the Eye of Diablo was turned off on December 8, 1941, the day after the attack on Pearl Harbor, due to fear of another attack; and

WHEREAS, on December 7, 1964, Admiral Chester W. Nimitz, turned the beacon back on to commemorate the Pearl Harbor survivors, and the Eye of Diablo is lit every year on December 7 to continue the commemoration; and

WHEREAS, Mount Diablo became a California Registered Historical Landmark in 1976; and

WHEREAS, the summit of Mount Diablo has beautiful views that extend over 100 miles in all directions on a clear day; and

WHEREAS, Mount Diablo State Park is today 20,000 acres; and

WHEREAS, Mount Diablo State Park is home to over 600 species of plants and wildlife, including tarantulas, bobcats, lizards, and snakes; and

WHEREAS, Mount Diablo State Park draws 350,000 visitors every year; and

WHEREAS, Mount Diablo State Park's highest elevation is 3,849 feet.

Now Therefore Be It Resolved that the Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors recognizes the Mount Diablo State Park for 100 years of service to our communities and your dedication to preserving open space, trails and natural environments for all to enjoy.

DIANE BURGIS

Chair, District III Supervisor

JOHN GIOIA	CANDACE ANDERSEN
District I Supervisor	District II Supervisor
KAREN MITCHOFF	FEDERAL D. GLOVER
District IV Supervisor	District V Supervisor
	I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors of the date shown.
	ATTESTED: October 19, 2021
	Monica Nino, County Administrator