

## NTRA COSTA COUNTY partment of Conservation and Development nmunity Development Division Muir Road

tinez, CA 94553

ephone: 674-7205 Fax: 674-7257

**DATE:** June 10, 2019

TO: Internal Operations Committee

FROM: Kristen Lackey, Affordable Housing Program Manager

SUBJECT: Recommended Appointment to the Affordable Housing Finance Committee

The purpose of this memorandum is to forward the following recommendation from the Affordable Housing Finance Committee (AHFC):

APPOINT Warren Ritter to the County Representative 3 seat with an expiration date of June 30, 2022.

Mr. Ritter was interviewed by members of the AHFC on April 23, 2019. He is a Pacheco resident with extensive relevant experience in the affordable housing field. He has a Bachelor of Science degree in International Relations and a Juris Doctorate in Community and Economic Development., as well as being a certified tax credit specialist. For the past five years, he has been a Project Manager with nonprofit affordable housing developers.

## **Background**

The Affordable Housing Finance Committee advises the Board of Supervisors on the annual allocation of approximately \$3 million in HOME Investment Partnership Act (HOME) and \$1.8 million in Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds for affordable housing development in Contra Costa County. These funds are allocated to the County on an annual basis by formula through the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

The Committee consists of nine members, including:

- three city representatives (one each from East, Central and West County)
- three county representatives; and
- three community representatives.

The three city representatives are nominated by the cities in each subregion of the County and approved by the Board of Supervisors. Nominations for county and community representatives are solicited by the Department of Conservation and Development. All county and community representative appointments are interviewed by members of the AHFC and reviewed by the Internal Operations Committee (IOC) then referred to the Board of Supervisors for approval. AHFC terms are for three years.

## **Current Status of Appointments**

Below is the current roster of the committee. The County Representative 1 seat was formally vacated at the May 25, 2019 Board of Supervisors meeting, and we have a new applicant that works in the unincorporated area of Clayton. The City Representative seats are filled by nominations from the cities within the designated regional area.

Seat	Expiration	Name	Note
City Representative 1/East	6/30/2020	Eric Brown	
City Representative 2/West	6/30/2021	Vacant	Vacant since 2018
City Representative 3/Central	6/30/2019	Vacant	Member resigning after 25 years.
County Representative 1	6/30/2020	Vacant	Resigned 3/18/19
County Representative 2	6/30/2021	Willie Robinson	
County Representative 3	6/30/2019	Warren Ritter	
Community Representative 1	6/30/2020	Dan Bundy	
Community Representative 2	6/30/2021	Frances Sorrondegui	
Community Representative 3	6/30/2019	Lisa Caronna	Member re-applied

## **Attachments**

Redacted Application