The Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County, California

In the matter of:

Resolution No. 2019/640

Recognizing Contra Costa Television (CCTV) on its 25th Anniversary

WHEREAS, CCTV live streams in high definition on its website and social media platform to the world, surrounding bay area counties, and over 350,000 homes in Contra Costa County on the Comcast and Astound cable systems; and WHEREAS, CCTV airs the Board of Supervisors and Special District meetings, community meetings, events of countywide interest, local sports and locally originated programming, thus playing a key role in transparent and open government; and

WHEREAS, CCTV currently broadcasts six channels--CCTV, City Channel, Ed TV, Community Access, Hercules Community TV, and Delta TV. The Contra Costa Television network provides public, education and government access services for users in Contra Costa County in the cities of Antioch, Clayton, Danville, Hercules, Martinez, Moraga, Pleasant Hill, and San Ramon; and

WHEREAS, CCTV, in partnership with the Clerk-Recorder-Elections Department and local chapters of the League of Women Voters, provides the only locally produced voter education for broadcast and internet streaming with the Election Preview programs; and

WHEREAS, CCTV has been recognized for award winning programming, in particular Veterans' Voices, serving as the voice of veterans in the county. CCTV also won the Western Alliance Video Excellence award in 2018 and 2016, and the California State Association of Counties 2015 Merit Award; and

WHEREAS, CCTV serves the community with news about jobs, programs, events, and public safety and emergency information, and supports the video technology and production needs of County departments; and

WHEREAS, CCTV adopted the slogan "Making Television Part of the Solution" and, for 25 years, the government cable television channel the has helped communicate County services and programs to the community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County does hereby recognize and honor CCTV on its 25th anniversary and award-winning commitment to public, educational, and government access.

JOHN GIOIA

Chair, District I Supervisor

CANDACE ANDERSEN

DIANE BURGIS

District II Supervisor

District III Supervisor

KAREN MITCHOFF

FEDERAL D. GLOVER

District IV Supervisor

District V Supervisor

I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors of the date shown.
ATTESTED: November 19, 2019
David J. Twa,
By:, Deputy