The Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County, California

In the matter of:

Resolution No. 2018/602

Honoring Hercules City Council Member Myrna de Vera, on the occasion of her retirement from the Hercules City Council

WHEREAS, The people of the City of Hercules elected Council Member Myrna de Vera on November 2, 2010 and re-elected her to a second term on November 2, 2014;

WHEREAS, During Council Member Myrna de Vera's tenure in office, the Hercules City Council appointed her as Mayor three times: on June 21, 2011, December 10, 2013, and December 12, 2017;

WHEREAS, Council Member Myrna de Vera represented Hercules in various regional appointments: West Contra Costa Transit Authority (WestCat), Pinole-Hercules Wastewater Treatment Plant, West County Mayors and Supervisors Association, the Contra Costa Mayors Conference, and the Contra Costa Transportation Agency;

WHEREAS, Council Member Myrna de Vera supported local organizations such as: the Hercules Library Foundation, Filipino Americans of Contra Costa, Chinese Association of Hercules, Saint Patrick Catholic Church, and the Bay Front Chamber of Commerce;

WHEREAS, Council Member Myrna de Vera increased resident participation through advisory committees, balanced Hercules' budget, worked with her colleagues to complete the first phases for the Regional Intermodal Transit Center and other developments such as: the Bay Trail, Muir Pointe, Alexandria by the Bay, the Bayfront Development, Sycamore Crossings, and Safeway;

WHEREAS, Council Member Myrna de Vera was the recipient of the American Dream Award by Congressman Mike Thompson in July of 2017;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County do hereby extend this Certificate of Recognition on the Occasion of the Retirement of Hercules City Council Member Myrna de Vera as an expression of our appreciation for your 8 years of dedicated service to the City of Hercules, and to extend our wishes for further success in your future endeavors.

KAREN MITCHOFF	
Chair, District IV Supervisor	
JOHN GIOIA	CANDACE ANDERSEN
District I Supervisor	District II Supervisor

DIANE BURGIS District III Supervisor

FEDERAL D. GLOVER District V Supervisor

I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors or the date shown.
ATTESTED: December 11, 2018
David J. Twa,
By:, Deputy