# The Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County, California

In the matter of:

Resolution No. 2018/494

Sustainable Contra Costa (SCOCO)'s Tenth Anniversary, as well as their tenth Leadership in Sustainability Awards

WHEREAS, Sustainable Contra Costa is a community of citizens, educators, innovators, and organizations that have worked together since 2008 to inspire healthy, connected and regenerative communities for all; and

WHEREAS, Sustainable Contra Costa helps thousands of people each year learn to live more sustainably and engage in actions and projects that save water and energy, reduce waste, grow food, and build resilient communities; and

WHEREAS, Sustainable Contra Costa is a trusted partner of businesses, governments, educators and community groups in Contra Costa County, achieving mutual sustainability goals; and

WHEREAS, Sustainable Contra Costa is a leader in promoting and supporting sustainable solutions; and

WHEREAS, Sustainable Contra Costa is an influential player in building a strong and successful sustainability movement in the greater Contra Costa County region; and

WHEREAS, Sustainable Contra Costa is a connector of regional collective efforts to assure a healthy, happy and sustainable present and future for everyone; and

WHEREAS, the Leadership in Sustainability Awards Gala has honored 74 individuals and organizations that demonstrate outstanding commitment and leadership in practicing and promoting sustainability; and

WHEREAS, the Community Resilience Challenge East Bay has engaged and inspired 8,729 people to take 48,310 actions to save water, conserve energy, grow food, reduce waste and build community since 2012; and

WHEREAS, this collective action honors people-powered, low-cost, high-impact solutions that create healthier, localized, resilient food systems and economies.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors does hereby recognize Sustainable Contra Costa's tenth anniversary and their tenth annual Leadership in Sustainability Awards Gala.

KAREN MITCHOFF

Chair, District IV Supervisor

JOHN GIOIA

**CANDACE ANDERSEN** 

District	Supervisor

### District II Supervisor

## **DIANE BURGIS**District III Supervisor

#### FEDERAL D. GLOVER

### District V Supervisor

I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an
action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors or
the date shown.
ATTESTED: September 18, 2018

David J. Twa,

By: \_\_\_\_\_\_\_, Deput