## The Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County, California

In the matter of:

Resolution No. 2018/107

Recognizing Deputy Fire Chief Derek Krause upon his retirement from the San Ramon Valley Fire Protection District.

Whereas, Chief Krause has served for over 25 years in the fire service with the San Ramon Fire Protection District, from November 1992 through his retirement on March 31, 2018; and

Whereas, Chief Krause has taken on many difficult assignments and challenges throughout his career with the San Ramon Valley Fire Protection District, Chief Krause maintained as a guiding principle what was in the best interest of his fellow firefighters and the community they serve; and

Whereas, Chief Krause served with honor and distinction in the following capacities throughout his career with the San Ramon Valley Fire Protection District:

November 1992: Hired as a Firefighter

January 2002- March 2005: Captain, Training Division

April 2005-October 2005: Captain, Suppression

November 2005-June 2010: Division Chief, Training

July 2010-November 2012: Battalion Chief, Special Operations

December 2012-June 2013: Shift Battalion Chief, Suppression

July 2013-November 2013: Interim Assistant Chief, Operations/Support Services

December 2013-July 2014: Shift Battalion Chief, Suppression

August 2014-March 2018: Deputy Chief

Whereas, while serving as Deputy Chief, Chief Krause was responsible for the overall effectiveness and operational readiness of the District's emergency response vehicles and facilities; and

Whereas, during the last several years of his tenure with San Ramon Valley Fire Protection District, Chief Krause was assigned responsibility for the Fire & Life Safety Division overseeing such critical function as building plan review, commercial fire inspections, fire hazard abatement and public education.

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved that the Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County does hereby honor and thank Deputy Chief Derek Krause for his dedication to the San Ramon Valley Fire Protection District and residents of Contra Costa County. PASSED by a vote of the Board of Supervisors this March 27, 2018.

**KAREN MITCHOFF** 

## Chair, District IV Supervisor

JOHN GIOIA  District I Supervisor	CANDACE ANDERSEN  District II Supervisor
DIANE BURGIS	FEDERAL D. GLOVER
District III Supervisor	District V Supervisor
	I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors o the date shown.
	ATTESTED: March 27, 2018
	David J. Twa,