The Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County, California

In the matter of:

Resolution No. 2016/571

recognizing the East Bay Leadership Council's Philanthropy Awards honorees.

the East Bay Leadership Council annually honors local individuals, non-profits, and corporations for their contributions to the community; and

WHEREAS, the Outstanding Corporate Philanthropy Honoree for corporations of 100 - 499 employees is Mechanics Bank, being recognized for hundreds of contributions totaling well over \$500,000 in 2015 and thousands of hours of volunteerism in support of local nonprofits focused in part on affordable housing, economic development, and the arts; and

WHEREAS, the Outstanding Corporate Philanthropy Honoree for corporations of 1 to 99 employees is Litman Gregory Asset Management, being recognized for their selfless giving of time and resources to alleviate and prevent homelessness in the East Bay; and

WHEREAS, the Outstanding Philanthropist Honoree is Sharon Simpson, being recognized for her passion and unending dedication as a model philanthropist, without whom the California Symphony would be unable to enrich the East Bay with incredible musical experiences and community outreach; and

WHEREAS, the Outstanding Foundation or Community Grant Maker Honoree is the Richmond Community Foundation, being recognized for a grant making strategy that builds capacity for local nonprofits, connects community stakeholders to increase collective impact, and ensures that funds are contributed where they will make the biggest difference on Contra Costa County communities; and

WHEREAS, the Outstanding Collaborative Project Honoree is the Contra Costa County Zero Tolerance for Domestic Violence Initiative / Family Justice Alliance, being recognized for their public-private collaboration that helps communities use existing resources in new ways to ensure easier access to high-quality services, build safer and healthier communities, and create violence-free futures; and

WHEREAS the Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Honoree is Susan Woolwine, being recognized for her service with the Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) of Contra Costa County where she has donated over 10,000 hours of her time over the past 24 years and impacted the lives of countless children in foster care and their families; and

WHEREAS the Next Generation Philanthropist Honoree is Breezy Bochenek, being recognized for bringing awareness to the Challenged Athletes Foundation and Rooms for Hope by sharing her experience with others and providing hope for those fighting childhood illness and disabilities; and

WHEREAS the Lifetime Achievement Honoree is Jim Noe, being recognized for his several lifetimes worth of leadership to St. Vincent de Paul of Contra Costa County where he has generously supported efforts to help local residents build careers, open a free dining room that serves 31,000 meals per year, and literally helped build a Family Resource Clinic with his own two hands and considerable leadership.

that the Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County does herby honor the recipients of the East Bay Leadership Council's 2016 Philanthropy Awards for their outstanding contributions to our community.

> CANDACE ANDERSEN Chair, District II Supervisor

JOHN GIOIA District I Supervisor MARY N. PIEPHO District III Supervisor

KAREN MITCHOFF

District IV Supervisor

FEDERAL D. GLOVER

District V Supervisor

I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors on the date shown.

ATTESTED: October 25, 2016

David J. Twa,

By: _____, Deputy