The Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County, California

Resolution No. 2015/300

In the matter of:

Citizens for East Shore Parks (CESP) celebrating 30 years of service

WHEREAS, since its establishment in 1985, Citizens for East Shore Park (CESP) has spearheaded a campaign to protect the East Bay shoreline from encroaching development; and

WHEREAS, CESP has impeded development on 1,800 acres of East Bay shoreline land; and WHEREAS, CESP's endeavors have resulted in the creation of the McLaughlin Eastshore State Park, named after Save the Bay co-founder Sylvia McLaughlin, which currently safeguards 8.5 miles of the shoreline and spans five cities; and

WHEREAS, much of the McLaughlin Eastshore State Park falls within Contra Costa County and its presence is a treasured asset in our community; and

WHEREAS, the McLaughlin Eastshore State Park serves as a wildlife habitat and a public recreation space for hundreds of thousands of Bay Area residents and visitors; and

WHEREAS, CESP remains dedicated to protecting and expanding open shoreline areas and to furthering the completion of the McLaughlin Eastshore State Park; and

WHEREAS, the success of these endeavors would not have been possible without the continued support of the County of Contra Costa; and

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved that the Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County do hereby recognize and honors the Citizens for East Shore Parks for its exceptional service to the East Bay and supports its future efforts to protect the San Francisco Bay shoreline.

JOHN GIOIA Chair, District I Supervisor

CANDACE ANDERSEN District II Supervisor MARY N. PIEPHO District III Supervisor

KAREN MITCHOFF District IV Supervisor FEDERAL D. GLOVER

District V Supervisor

I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors on the date shown.

ATTESTED: October 20, 2015

David J. Twa,

By: \_\_\_\_\_, Deputy