The Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County, California

In the matter of: Resolution No. 2015/206

Congratulation Fifteen Contra Costa County Students as the California Arts Scholars

WHEREAS, Contra Costa County recognizes the contributions of The Arts and Culture Commission (AC5) in advancing the arts in ways that promote communication, education, appreciation and collaboration throughout Contra Costa County, including the honoring of students of exemplary artistic achievement; and

WHEREAS, the California State Summer School for the Arts was established to help prepare talented high school students for careers in the arts and entertainment industries; and

WHEREAS, more than 14,000 high school students, young California artists, who represent the diversity of California, have benefited from the unique experience of participating in this intensive arts training program; and

WHEREAS, the 29th California State Summer School for the Arts program is providing valuable opportunities for students to interact with distinguished faculty members in a month-long residential program hosted at the California Institute for the Arts; and

WHEREAS, AC5 and the Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County honor the distinguished high school students who have been selected as California Arts Scholars and selected to participate in the 2015 California State Summer School for the Arts program; and

WHEREAS, the California Arts Scholars from Contra Costa County include:

Laura Augustinsky, California High School, Creative Writing
Jonathan Babu, Dougherty Valley High School, Music Instrument
Cameron Burrill, Acalanes High School, Theatre
Julia Chai, Dougherty Valley High School, Visual Arts
Grant Chudler, Campolindo High School, Animation
Isaac Edejer, Ruth Asawa San Francisco School of the Arts, Theatre
Annalise Hanel, Heritage High School, Animation
Isabelle Jia, Dougherty Valley High School, Creative Writing
Olivia Keller, Albany High School, Dance
Young Min Kim, Dougherty Valley High School, Creative Writing
Michelle Li, Dougherty Valley High School, Visual Arts

Miriam Marks – Peterson, The College Preparatory School, Visual Arts

Robin Qiu, Dougherty Valley High School, Creative Writing

William Southall, East Oakland School of the Arts, Musical Vocal

Olivia Wong, Monte Vista High School, Creative Writing

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County does hereby declare that the above fifteen students are California Arts Scholars, congratulates and honors them on their selection and urges residents to continue to support the artistic endeavors and careers of these students.

Cha	GIOIA air, Supervisor
CANDACE ANDERSEN District II Supervisor	MARY N. PIEPHO District III Supervisor
KAREN MITCHOFF	FEDERAL D. GLOVER

District IV Supervisor

District V Supervisor

I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken
and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors on the date
shown.

ATTESTED: June 16, 2015	
David J. Twa,	
By:	, Deputy