

A RESOLUTION OF COUNTIES WITHIN THE SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY AND DELTA SUPPORTING PROACTIVE ACTIONS TO SAFEGUARD A SUSTAINABLE SACRAMENTO-SAN JOAQUIN DELTA

WHEREAS the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta is the largest estuary on the Pacific Coast of the United States and includes major eastside tributaries that account for nearly half the snowmelt and runoff of the entire state. Located east of the San Francisco Bay and Suisun Marsh at the confluence of the Sacramento-San Joaquin Rivers, the Delta stretches inland to encompass an area of over 730,000 acres with islands and tracts of rich fertile soil surrounded by miles of sloughs and winding channels protected by levees creating one of the country's most productive agricultural regions; and

WHEREAS the Delta is also habitat for hundreds of plant and animal species providing crucial habitat for fish and wildlife. In addition, the Delta with its Legacy Communities is a popular boating and recreation area which supports a fishery for both recreational and commercial purposes. Eighty percent of the State's commercial fishery species either live in or migrate through the Delta; and

WHEREAS the Delta is also the hub of California's State and Federal water storage and delivery system with water exports made to agricultural and urban users in the Bay Area, Silicon Valley, San Joaquin Valley, the Central Coast, and Southern California wherein two-thirds of Californians rely on the Delta for all or some of their drinking water. Additionally, over 7 million acres of farmland in the San Joaquin Valley are irrigated in part by water conveyed through the Delta, contributing to California's multi-billion dollar agriculture industry which produces half the nation's fruits, nuts and vegetables, and twenty percent of the nation's dairy products; and

WHEREAS many people living in California depend on the Delta for drinking water; water for irrigation and livestock; habitat, recreation, the shipment of goods from inland ports over highways and railways crisscrossing the Delta, natural gas fields, electrical transmission and conveyance facilities among many other benefits; and

WHEREAS the California Partnership for the San Joaquin Valley ("Partnership") and the Delta Counties Coalition ("Coalition") together encompass an area within 12 counties in the State of California's San Joaquin Valley and Delta, representing the issues and interests from the unique perspective of the people who live, work and recreate and perhaps best understand the tremendous resource this area of California represents; and

WHEREAS the Partnership and Coalition have been engaged in a collaborative dialogue to bring together these vital regions with their perspectives and interests to develop a shared vision on actions to help safeguard a sustainable Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta for future generations while ensuring the economic and environmental well-being of the Delta and Valley and an improved quality of life for all its citizens; and

WHEREAS the Coalition and Partnership together desire to advance the goals of the Delta Protection Act of 1992 and the Delta Reform Act of 2009 through action with the recognition of achieving the two coequal goals of providing a more reliable water supply for California and protecting, restoring, and enhancing the Delta ecosystem for California within the unique

cultural, recreational, natural resource, and agricultural framework of the Delta as an evolving place; and

WHEREAS the Coalition and the Partnership support efforts by the State of California to establish a more open, fair and effective public process in the development of the Bay Delta Conservation Plan including greater involvement by local government and stakeholder interests and encourage this approach as plans and programs are developed by the Delta Stewardship Council, Delta Conservancy, Delta Protection Commission and other organizations with responsibilities in the Delta.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors of the California Partnership for the San Joaquin Valley and the Supervisors of the Delta Counties Coalition unanimously support the following proactive actions to safeguard a sustainable Delta for the benefit of all Californians, including the:

- 1. Recognition of the authority and responsibility given to local government related to land use, water resources, flood management, tax revenues, public health and safety, economic development, agricultural stability, recreation, and environmental protection.
- 2. Incorporation of the overarching principles of regional self-sufficiency and integrated regional water management planning, funding and implementation to support sustainable approaches for improved water supply, quality and reliability to reduce future reliance on the Delta consistent with the Delta Reform Act of 2009.
- 3. Protection and restoration of the Delta ecosystem including adequate water supply, quality and outflow to support fisheries, wildlife and habitat in perpetuity while supporting immediate improvements for through-Delta conveyance as part of a complete strategy consistent with the Delta Reform Act of 2009.
- **4.** Funding and implementation of urban and non-urban flood protection and water resource programs in the Delta and its watersheds for water storage; conjunctive use; conservation; and rehabilitation, improvement and maintenance of flood control levees and structures.

PASSED APPROVED, and ADOPTED this 25 day of October, 2011, by the Board of the California Partnership for the San Joaquin.

Ashley Swearengin

Chair

Corwin Harper Deputy Chair

Endorsed by:

<u>California Partnership - Water Policy Working Group</u>

Raymond Watson, Co-Chair Supervisor, Kern County

Leroy Ornellas, Co-Chair Supervisor, San Joaquin County

Delta Counties Coalition

Mary Nejedly Piepho Supervisor, Contra Costa County

Larry Ruhstaller Supervisor, San Joaquin County

Mike McGowan Supervisor, Yolo County Don Nottoli

Supervisor, Sacramento County

Michael J. Reagan

Supervisor, Solano County