The Board of Supervisors of Contra Costa County, California

In the matter of:

Resolution No. 2010/57

PRESENTATION to recognize the San Ramon Valley Regional Planning Commission and Commissioners for their years of volunteer service to Contra Costa County.

WHEREAS, the Contra Costa County Ordinance Code provides for the existence of Regional Planning Commissions, and

WHEREAS, the San Ramon Valley Regional Planning Commission was established in 1977, and WHEREAS, its territorial area of jurisdiction was the unincorporated territory covered by the San Ramon Valley General Plan adopted by the Board on May 24, 1977, and

WHEREAS, in accordance with Article 26-2.1502 the Board of Supervisors appointed regional area resident members to serve on the Commission with two year terms, and

WHEREAS, Department records show that the San Ramon Valley Regional Planning Commission considered 179 applications in the 1978/1979 fiscal year, and

WHEREAS, the San Ramon Valley Regional Planning Commission terms were renewed throughout the 1980's, 1990's and through October 2009, and

WHEREAS, the San Ramon Valley Regional Planning Commission provided effective and efficient local representation which was of significant benefit to the public, and

WHEREAS, the decline of regional projects and applications necessitated the Board to take a detailed look at the work level of the commission, and

WHEREAS, much of the application volume is currently comprised of relatively small, infill projects that are successfully managed at an administrative or Zoning Administrator level, and

WHEREAS, the Zoning Administrators have routinely held a low appeal rate, successfully resolving land use issues without requiring review by the planning commissions, and

WHEREAS, with the reduction in proposed projects, it was determined that term of the San Ramon Valley Regional Commission would not be extended beyond October 6, 2009, and

WHEREAS, the following Commissioners were in service at the time of the Commissions sunset, and

WHEREAS, Neal Matsunaga, Chair, is recognized for his 17 years of service, and

WHEREAS, Scott Couture, Vice Chair, is recognized for his 13 years of service, and

WHEREAS, Michael Gibson is recognized for his 16 years of service, and

WHEREAS, Sherry Neely is recognized for her 14 years of service, and

WHEREAS, Karen McPherson is recognized for her 8 years of service, and

WHEREAS, Denise Cunningham who served on the Commission for one year is recognized for her service, and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors commends the San Ramon Valley Regional Planning Commission and its members for all the dedicated work and outstanding service to the citizens of Contra Costa County.

## JOHN GIOIA

Chair, District I Supervisor

GAYLE B. UILKEMA District II Supervisor

SUSAN A. BONILLA District IV Supervisor MARY N. PIEPHO

District III Supervisor

## FEDERAL D. GLOVER District V Supervisor

I hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of an action taken and entered on the minutes of the Board of Supervisors on the date shown.

ATTESTED: January 19, 2010

## David J. Twa,

By: \_\_\_\_\_, Deputy