Print Minutes Minutes Packet Return


March 13, 2023
Supervisor Candace Andersen, Chair
Supervisor Diane Burgis, Vice Chair
Present: Candace Andersen, Chair  
  Diane Burgis, Vice Chair  
Staff Present: Monica Nino, County Administrator; Julie DiMaggio Enea, Staff
Attendees: Jill Ray, District II Supv Office; Joe Yee, Public Works Dept; Ricky Williams, Public Works Dept; Sandra Bewley, Auditor-Controller's Office; Michael Kent, Health Services Dept.; Alicia Nuchols, District III Supervisor's Office; Lauren Weston, Public Works Dept.; Sean Boyle; Unidentified Caller 1
1. Introductions
  Chair Andersen called the meeting to order at 10:32 a.m.
2. Public comment on any item under the jurisdiction of the Committee and not on this agenda (speakers may be limited to two minutes).
  No one requested to speak during the general public comment period.
3. RECEIVE and APPROVE the Record of Action for the February 13, 2023 IOC meeting.
  The Committee approved the record of action for the February 13, 2023 as presented.
AYE: Chair Candace Andersen
  Vice Chair Diane Burgis
  DRAFT IOC Record of Action for 2-13-23
4. RECOMMEND to the Board of Supervisors the appointment of Richmond City Councilmember Soheila Bana to the Mayors Conference #3 seat and Julian Vinatieri to the Labor #1 seat on the Hazardous Materials Commission to terms that will expire on December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2026, respectively.
  The Committee approved the recommended appointments and directed staff to forward them to the Board of Supervisors.
AYE: Chair Candace Andersen
  Vice Chair Diane Burgis
  Hazardous Materials Commission Roster
  Application_Soheila Bana_HMC
  Mayors Conference Nomination Ltr
  Application_Julian Vinatieri_HMC
  Building Trades Council Nomination
5. INTERVIEW applicants for the At-Large Alternate #1 and #2 seats on the Contra Costa County Fire Protection District Advisory Fire Commission and DETERMINE recommendations for Board of Supervisors consideration:

Mark DeMarce (Clayton)
Donn Walklet (Concord)
  The Committee approved appointment of the applicants based on their applications and directed staff to forward them to the Board of Supervisors.  Chair Andersen asked staff to verify that Mr. Walkets' employment would not constitute a conflict of interest or that he be advised to recuse himself in such case.
AYE: Chair Candace Andersen
  Vice Chair Diane Burgis
  Media Release_CCCFPD_2023
  CCCFPD Roster
  Combined Fire District Map 2022
  Application_Mark DeMarce_CCCFPD
  Application_Donn Walklet_CCCFPD
6. ACCEPT report on the Auditor-Controller's audit activities for 2022 and APPROVE the proposed schedule of financial audits for 2023.
  Sandi Bewley presented the staff report.  Vice Chair Burgis asked if the staff training was adequate to promote better policy compliance.  Ms. Bewley acknowledged that staff turnover can contribute to a lack of adherence to policies but that policies are communicated, are readily accessible by staff and that the Auditor's Office is always available to provide supplemental training.

The Committee accepted the report and directed staff to forward it to the Board for its information.
AYE: Chair Candace Andersen
  Vice Chair Diane Burgis
  2022 Internal Audit Report and 2023 Proposed Audit Schedule
7. RECEIVE the 2021/22 annual report from the Public Works Director on the Internal Services Fund and status of the County's Vehicle Fleet.
  Joe Yee introduced Lauren Weston and new Fleet Services Manager Ricky Williams, who presented the staff report. 

An unidentified caller commented about government tech programs that she said rerouted her and nearly caused her to have a traffic accident.

The Committee accepted the staff report and directed staff to forward the report to the Board for its information.  Chair Andersen commented that vehicle navigation systems will sometimes reroute drivers to avoid road hazards and that this occurs more frequently during winter weather.  She reminded people about checking traffic websites before driving to obtain information about road safety before setting out, and to drive safely.
AYE: Chair Candace Andersen
  Vice Chair Diane Burgis
  2021/22 Fleet Internal Service Fund and Underutilized Vehicle Report
8. The next meeting is currently scheduled for April 10, 2023.
  Chair Andersen confirmed the meeting date and indicated that she plans to attend from a remote location and that staff should notice that location accordingly.
9. Adjourn
  Chair Andersen adjourned the meeting at 10:59 a.m.


For Additional Information Contact:

Julie DiMaggio Enea, Committee Staff
Phone (925) 655-2056, Fax (925) 655-2066

AgendaQuick©2005 - 2023 Destiny Software Inc., All Rights Reserved